Skip to content ↓


Woodside Primary School strives to be an outstanding school at the heart of the local community in which every child is empowered to have self-belief and to aspire to achieve her/his highest potential.

Our Chair of Governors is Paul Dowie.
Our Vice Chair of Governors is Joe Gaytten.

The Governing Body of Woodside Primary School:

  • is accountable for the performance of the school to parents and the wider community
  • plans the school’s future direction
  • monitors, audit and intervenes on safeguarding and health and safety issues
  • selects the head teacher
  • makes decisions on the school’s budget and staffing including the performance management policy
  • makes sure the agreed Curriculum is well taught
  • decides how the school can encourage pupils’ spiritual, moral and cultural development
  • makes sure the school provides for all pupils including those with special needs

Governors at Woodside aim to ensure that our children experience a secure, safe and stimulating environment providing the full breadth of the National Curriculum – with emphasis on English, mathematics, science and computing – where all are excited about learning and all learning activities encourage positive models of enquiry, reflection, innovation and challenge.

We nurture and support children of all abilities, helping each to achieve her/his potential in all aspects of learning and physical, social, emotional, moral and spiritual development. From this foundation we encourage staff to share success and equip children to become independent, creative thinkers and learners for life and to develop the resilience to face the challenges of an ever-changing world.

We recognise and value the diversity of our school family and the uniqueness of each of its members. We ensure excellence in teaching and learning through teamwork, support, collaboration and effective leadership.

We promote inclusion, creativity and enthusiasm. We promote British values – including tolerance, cooperation, trust and respect – within the school and the wider community.

The school has a long, rich history and we actively encourage community involvement wherever possible. We achieve the best we can for our children by using the strength of partnership working with parents and others.

The Governing Body of Woodside Primary School

Governor Name Governor Type Start Date Term of Office Responsibility
Melissa Chambers Staff  01/09/2017 4 Years Health & Safety
Paul Dowie - Chair*
(appt 01/09/2016 
Re appointed community  01/09/2020

4 Years

Safeguarding & Pupil Premium
Joe Gaytten - Vice Chair Community 11/07/2018 4  Years -
Leanne Grice Community 14/09/2020 4 Years -
Claudia Fleary - Tayabali Headteacher 03/09/2020 N/A -
Glenn Lillo Parent 01/01/2017 4 Years Attendance
Sian Marshall Community 11/07/2018 4 Years SEND
Hana Patel Community 14/09/2020 4 Years -
Tequilla Scott Parent  24/09/2020 4 Years -
Julie Newman  - Clerk to the Governing Body appointed 12th March  2019
Email: or Email: 

Governors resignations:

Liz Rankin- Appointed Governor- resigned 31st August 2020

Kim Meyler Vincent - Parent governor resigned 31st August 2020

Carly Walker - Appointed governor - term ended 31st August

Kay Hancox - Chair - term ended 31st August

Stuart King - Parent governor - resigned 24th April 2019

Asma Mustafa - Parent governor - resigned 8th March 2019

John Knight was appointed governor - removed 1st February 2019

Declaration of Pecuniary Interests from September 2019

Governor Name Governor Type Name of Business Nature of Business Declaration of Interest
Rachel Byrne Deputy Head N/A N/A No
Paul Dowie Appointed Paul’s Pan Percussion Music Education/Teaching Yes
Kay Hancox Appointed College Education  None
Melissa Chambers Staff  N/A N/A None
Kim Meyler-Vincent  Parent College Education  None
Glenn Lillo Parent Oasis Academy Education Yes
Liz Rankin Appointed Public Services  Accountancy None
Carly Walker - Vice Chair Appointed N/A N/A None
Joe Gaytten Appointed N/S N/A None
Sian Marshall Appointed N/A N/A None
Melissa Chambers Staff N/A N/A None
Julie Newman  Clerk N/A N/A None

Attendance at meeting from September 2019

Autumn Term Type FGB 
(total 5)
Paul Dowie Appointed      5
Melissa Chambers
Staff 4
Kay Hancox Appointed 5
Kim Meyler-Vincent Parent 4
Joe Gaytten Appointed 5
Liz Rankin Appointed 5
Carly Walker Appointed 5
Glenn Lillo Parent  5
Sain Marshall
Appointed 2* maternity leave
Claire Howarth Head 4


The governing body at The Woodside ensures that pupils are provided a high standard of education. Parents, staff and members of the community are invited to contact governors to express your views.

Are you interested in becoming a governor? We would be pleased to answer your questions. 
or write to us via the school office:
The Chair of Governors
Woodside Primary School
Morland Road 
Croydon  CR0 6NF